Library Databases
 

Library Card Required for Remote Access | *Provided by NYS Library | **No Remote Access | Periodical Holdings | Printer Friendly

Subjects

Agriculture
Arts
Audio Books
Business
Car Repair
Careers
Children
Communications
Computer Skills
Computers
Criminal Justice
Culinary Arts
Cultural Studies
Encyclopedias
Environmental Sciences
Gardening
GED
Genealogy
General Reference
Grants
Health
History
Home Improvement
Information Science
Insurance
Job Searching
Journals
Library Science
Literature
Magazines
Medical
Military
Newspapers
Nursing
Phonebooks
Philosophy
Physical Therapy
Psychology
Readers' Advisement
Religion
Science
Terrorism
Travel

War



 

All-in-One Search - Gale Databases, Click here >>

Agriculture
Agriculture Collection* [Gale] Includes practical aspects of farming to cutting edge scientific research in horticulture

Arts
Fine Arts & Music Collection* [Gale] Includes titles covered in indices such as the Wilson Art Index and RILM; provides support for research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and filmmaking

Audio Books
OverDrive Downloadable audio books (see OverDrive brochure)

Business
Business & Company ASAP* [Gale] Provides information on companies, markets, and industries; includes market trends, mergers, acquisitions, and current management theory; access business and trade journals, newspapers, and company directory profiles
Business & Company Resource Center* [Gale] Includes company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies, and periodicals
Business Economics & Theory* [Gale] Focuses on topics in economics
General Business File ASAP* [Gale] Similar to Business & Company ASAP; analyze company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics, and politics; access a combination of broker research reports, trade publications, newspapers, journals, and company directory listings
Small Business* [Gale] Perfect for business schools and entrepreneurs, this compilation provides insights, tips, strategies, and success stories
Standard & Poor’s Includes stock reports, corporation records, company profiles, The Outlook, mutual fund reports, industry surveys, and more

Car Repair

Auto Repair Reference Center [EBSCO] 1945-current; includes repair information, drawings, wiring diagrams, service bulletins, and recalls

Careers & Job Searching
LearningExpress Library: Inside Library | Remote | Full description>>
Includes civil service & graduate school entrance exams; workplace skills; job search skills: resume writing, interviewing, networking, & more
OptimalResume Provides a variety of tools to help users create, present, manage and share their professional credentials
Resume Software [WinWay] (**No Remote Access) Enables users to create job-winning resumes instantly; 14,000+ examples included; eliminates most typing - Coming soon to the library!
Vocations, Careers & Technical Education Collection* [Gale] Provides content from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals

Children [see also Encyclopedias]                    

Kids Search* [EBSCO] Interface to Primary Search, designed for K-5 students; includes over 50 popular, elementary school magazines, over 100 student pamphlets, and more
LearningExpress Library: Inside Library | Remote | Full description>>
Practice math, reading, and writing skills
Primary Search* [EBSCO] Grades K-8; Contains full text of 57 popular, basic school magazines plus almanacs, an encyclopedia, and a dictionary; includes reading levels
Searchasaurus* [EBSCO] Colorful interface to Primary Search

Communications                     

Communications and Mass Media Collection* [Gale] Includes all aspects of the communications field; key subjects: advertising, public relations, linguistics, and literature

Computer Skills

LearningExpress: Inside Library | Remote | Full description>>
The interactive tutorial courses found here will take your computer skills to the next level, while allowing you to learn at your own pace; courses range from Adobe Flash to Windows and Mac Operating Systems;
LearningExpress is supported by Federal Library Services and Technology Act funds, awarded to the New York State Library by the Federal Institute of Museum and Library Services

Computers                     
Computer Database* [Gale] Includes computer-related product introductions; news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications, and the application of technology

Criminal Justice                     

Criminal Justice Collection* [Gale] Useful for studying to become a lawyer, law enforcement officer, paralegal, forensic scientist, or for a career in Homeland Security

Culinary Arts                     

Culinary Arts Collection* [Gale] Includes cooking and nutrition magazines; provides thousands of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information

Cultural Studies
Diversity Studies Collection* [Gale] Explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community
Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual & Transgender Issues Collection* [Gale] This collection aims to provide balanced coverage of this significant aspect of our culture, covering such topics as gender studies, family and marital issues, health aspects, and more

Encyclopedias                     

Encyclopedia Americana* [Grolier] Articles include links to further readings, a bibliography, selected full text articles, and webpage links
Funk & Wagnalls Encyclopedia* [EBSCO] 25,000+ encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas
Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia* Includes encyclopedia articles, news, timelines, quizzes, games, and research starters; also includes an atlas and dictionary; articles can be grouped by reading levels (lexile levels) and are aligned to standards
The New Book of Knowledge* [Grolier] For middle grade students; includes literary selections, a timeline, projects, experiments, news, homework help, and more

Environmental Sciences                     

Environmental Studies & Policy Collection* [Gale] Includes environmental issues and policies, including diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests

Gardening                     

Gardening, Landscape and Horticulture Collection* [Gale] Includes 100+ journals focused on key issues in gardening, landscaping, and other areas of horticulture

GED
LearningExpress Library: Inside Library | Remote | Full description>>
Includes GED practice tests and preparation courses

Genealogy                     

Ancestry Library Edition (**No Remote Access) Censuses, vital, church, court, immigration records, and more
HeritageQuest [ProQuest]:  Inside Library | Remote
1790-1930 U.S. Federal Censuses, book titles, family histories, local histories, and more

General Reference see Magazines/Journals

Grants [Databases are from Foundation Center. Prendergast is a Cooperating Collection.]
Foundation Directory Online Professional, FDO (**No Remote Access) 98,000+ foundations, corporate giving programs, and grantmaking public charities in the U.S.
Foundation Grants to Individuals Online (**No Remote Access)

Health                     
Health Reference Center Academic* [Gale] Multi-source database providing access to full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus a wide variety of personal health information sources that offer reliable health information to researchers, including nursing and allied health students
Nursing and Allied Health Collection* [Gale] Offers researchers looking for answers to nursing or allied health questions; millions of articles found in over 1,100 journals; provides full text coverage of many of the titles cited in CINAHL.
Salem Health [Salem Press]:  Inside Library | Remote
Virtually all of the content in Magill’s Medical Guide & Salem Health: Cancer is available online

History
World History Collection* [Gale] Provides balanced coverage of events in World History; it is useful both to the novice historian and to the advanced academic researcher

Home Improvement                     
Home Improvement Collection* [Gale] This collection of more than 200 home-improvement focused titles covers such topics as architectural techniques, tool and material selection, zoning requirements, and many more will meet the needs of hobbyists and professionals alike

Insurance
Insurance & Liability Collection* [Gale] Provides a broad view of this multimillion dollar industry; topics include labor relations, mortgage banking, legal issues, and more

Library Science [also known as Information Science]
Information Science & Library Issues Collection* [Gale] Covers information infrastructure,
data processing techniques, metadata architectures, and more

Literature                     

Literary Reference Center [EBSCO] Antiquity-present day; detailed information on the most studied authors; includes: literary criticisms, plot summaries, reviews, and interviews
Twayne’s Author Series* [Gale] Literary criticisms, readers’ advisement, in-depth introduction to the works and lives of writers

Magazines/Journals                     
Academic OneFile* [Gale] 1980-current; academic research database; premier source for peer-reviewed, full text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources; extensive coverage of the sciences, technology, medicine, the arts, theology, literature, and other subjects; includes abstracts & full text
Expanded Academic ASAP* [Gale] From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines; access scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers - many with full text
General OneFile* [Gale] 1980-current; perfect for researchers at all levels; a one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics; includes abstracts & full text
Popular Magazines* [Gale] 1980-current; useful for public library patrons; includes a strong focus on current events, sports, science and health; 75% of full text contains titles that cannot be found together in any other online collection; titles chosen by public library search results

Medical see Health

Military
Military and Intelligence Collection* [Gale] Hand-selected by Gale editors to meet
the content needs of libraries serving military personnel

Newspapers [Current Events]
   All Newspapers:
     Buffalo News [NewsBank] 1989-current; full text
     Custom Newspapers* [Gale] 1980-current; national & international;
          full text
     InfoTrac Newsstand* [Gale] Same titles as Custom Newspapers
     National Newspaper Index* [Gale] 1977-current; indexing only
     New York State Papers* [Gale] 1980-current; full text
     NewsBank 1977-current; user friendly interface; national &
          international; full text & abstracts

   Includes Newspapers:
     Academic OneFile* [Gale] 1980-current; academic research
          database; national & international; includes abstracts & full text
     Expanded Academic ASAP* [Gale] From arts and the humanities to
          social sciences, science and technology, this database meets
          research needs across all academic disciplines; scholarly journals,
          magazines, and newspapers - many with full text
     General OneFile* [Gale] 1980-current; useful for public library patrons;
          includes abstracts & full text

ProQuest:  Inside Library | Remote - Library Card #  or Password
Contact the Information Desk for the ProQuest password; 1971-current; premier collection of periodicals covering all aspects of general reference including arts, business, humanities, health, social sciences, sciences, and current affairs; includes abstracts & full text

Nursing see Health

Phonebooks                     
ReferenceUSA U.S. & Canada yellow & white pages; includes phone # search field

Physical Therapy see also Health
Physical Therapy & Sports Medicine Collection* [Gale] Users will discover proven treatment techniques, examine experimental research theses, and find unique applications for specific sports (everything from baseball and bowling to tennis and yachting)

Philosophy
Religion & Philosophy Collection* [Gale] Covers religion and the related areas of philosophy, archaeology, and anthropology

Psychology [see also Magazines/Journals]
Psychology Collection* [Gale] This collection gives individuals a basic understanding of the study of the mind, emotions, and how the human mind develops and diminishes over time; researchers have access to nearly 500 subject-appropriate full text periodicals - many cited in the PsycINFO index

Readers’ Advisement [see also Literature]
NextReads [EBSCO] Book suggestions delivered via an email newsletter

Religion
Religion & Philosophy Collection* [Gale] Covers religion and the related areas of philosophy, archaeology, and anthropology

Travel                     

Hospitality, Tourism and Leisure Collection* [Gale] Provides well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism fields; a great resource for curious travelers and serious researchers

Titles

Academic OneFile
Agriculture Collection
Ancestry Library Edition
Auto Repair Reference Center
Buffalo News
Business & Company ASAP
Business & Company Resource Center
Business Economics & Theory
Communications and Mass Media Collection
Computer Database
Criminal Justice Collection
Culinary Arts Collection
Custom Newspapers
Diversity Studies Collection
Encyclopedia Americana
Environmental Studies & Policy Collection
Expanded Academic ASAP
Fine Arts & Music Collection
Foundation Directory Online Professional, FDO
Foundation Grants to Individuals Online
Funk & Wagnalls Encyclopedia
Gardening, Landscape and Horticulture Collection
Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual & Transgender Issues
     Collection
General Business File ASAP
General OneFile
Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia
Health Reference Center Academic
HeritageQuest: Inside Library | Remote
Home Improvement Collection
Hospitality, Tourism and Leisure Collection
InfoTrac Newsstand
Kids Search
LearningExpress: Inside Library | Remote
     Full description for LearningExpress >>
Literary Reference Center
National Newspaper Index
New Book of Knowledge
New York State Papers
NewsBank
NextReads
Nursing and Allied Health Collection
OptimalResume
OverDrive
Popular Magazines
Primary Search
Psychology Collection
ReferenceUSA
Resume Software - Coming Soon!
Salem Health:  Inside Library | Remote
Searchasaurus
Small Business Collection
Standard & Poor’s
Twayne’s Author Series
Vocations, Careers & Technical Education
     Collection
World History Collection


















 

James Prendergast Library
509 Cherry St
Jamestown, NY 14701
Information Desk: 716.484.7135, ext. 225 or 226

updated: 8.31.10